@su-mac-dude avatar
UTC

Hooked
MP3 400

Hooked
@su-mac-dude avatar
MP3 400
UTC quote
Is a scooter as stable in a straight line as a motorcycle?

My thinking is that the lower rotating masses of the smaller wheels means that it's not. But I don't have a motorcycle, so can't make a direct comparison.
But then there's center of gravity.

Just curious...
@raybjur avatar
UTC

Addicted
'10 Aprilia Mana GT

Addicted
@raybjur avatar
'10 Aprilia Mana GT
UTC quote
I'm not an engineer but all I've read says the larger diameter wheels on motorcycles are more stabile at higher speeds due to the rotating mass (gyro effect). Other advantages of bigger wheels are pothole survival and, I believe, more miles per tire.
@rjeffb avatar
UTC

Bracketmeister
Bracketmeister Emeritus (retired)

Bracketmeister
@rjeffb avatar
UTC quote
I, on the other hand, am an engineer and the answer is...it depends.

The mass of the wheel has no direct impact. The moment, however, does, and the mass is one factor that goes into the moment (the other is how that mass is distributed around the axis). All things being equal, a large diameter but small sidewall tire can have a greater moment than an equally large but bigger sidewall tire, because moment also involves how much of the mass is furthest away from the axis (that's why you don't see bikes with solid wheels like a car; putting mass close to the axis adds useless weight but not useful moment).

All things being equal - same sidewall size, same tire weight per unit volume - the moment is approximately equal to mass times the square of the radius. Double the diameter of the wheel and you quadruple the moment. So a bigger wheel has four times the moment of a smaller wheel.