@tpring avatar
UTC

Hooked
Fly 150, Stella

Hooked
@tpring avatar
Fly 150, Stella
UTC quote
I'm considering buying pet insurance for a couple of [healthy, aging] dogs. There are several options and many opinions on the various plans I've looked at so far (and it is getting to be information overload).

Would be interested in hearing feedback from anyone who has gotten/considered it and whether it was worth it (and which plan).
@birdsnest avatar
UTC

Not So Moderator
VNB VSC VMA VSX - o9c vbc vmb

Not So Moderator
@birdsnest avatar
UTC quote
Hi. I work in the veterinary industry and have handled all the most popular carriers and policies. I can say unequivocally that Purina (Yes, the food brand) offers the best value policies. They are also the most generous in benefit payments.

http://www.purinacare.com/plan_overview.aspx
@birdsnest avatar
UTC

Not So Moderator

Not So Moderator
@birdsnest avatar
UTC quote
Re: NSR - Pet insurance, anyone?
tpring wrote:
Would be interested in hearing feedback from anyone who has gotten/considered it and whether it was worth it (and which plan).
It is worth it if a). You get the policy when they are young so that no Preexisting conditions can be excluded. b). Your older dogs have been healthy and never diagnosed with a chronic condition that would be excluded.

In the link above there are 3 options. Avoid the "Accident only" policy and choose one of the other options. Preventive care plans (covers shots, heartworm tests, etc) will be more expensive per month.

If I had an older dog with no preexistings I would probably choose the plan w/o preventive care. Then you just decide how much of a deductible is affordable to you. The monthly cost of the plan is not very high and is certainly worthwhile if your pouch gets sick.

(Disclaimer - I treat my pets like they were my kids. So, my perspective may be a bit skewed compared to the average pet owner.)
@tb avatar
UTC

Ossessionato
Vespa 2005 GT200 & Honda Metro

Ossessionato
@tb avatar