OP
@bpreynolds avatar
UTC

2007 LX150

@bpreynolds avatar
2007 LX150
UTC quote
As I stated in another thread I've got about 15 years of motorcycle experience and rode 15k just last year on my Ducati, this including a great number of highway miles. I just got my first scooter last week, a fantastic '07 200GT. I commute to work about 15 miles each way usually B roads but I can take a highway and cut the time down significantly. Today I decided to try the scoot out on the big road. Granted, it's needing some tires but even still, I wasn't used to the experience I had. First, and this is a sidebar, but I think my speedo might be a tad optimistic, but anyhow, I couldn't care less about that really. What bothered me is the scoot did not feel greatly stable, swerving a good bit and getting tossed around a lot by the wind and turbulance, and it wasn't even a greatly windy day. I'm really enjoying the scoot but I got the 200 thinking it would be fine for some shorter hauls on the freeway but today I felt like I was fighting it for most of the 14 or so miles. This was running about 70mph. Any feedback on this?
@menhir avatar
UTC

@menhir avatar
UTC quote
Yes, the speedometers are optimistic. Very common. So is the speedometer on my Honda motorcycle, and also yes, you'll feel the wind a bit more and, until you get used to it, the scooter will feel twitchier.

But, you'll get used to it.

Even now, when I switch between my motorcycle and my scooter, I have a short period of adjusting between the too.

But I've become used to it.
@jimc avatar
UTC

Moderaptor
The Hornet (GT200, aka Love Bug) and 'Dimples' - a GTS 300

Moderaptor
@jimc avatar
UTC quote
My GT200 copes fine on motorways - even the Italian autostrada. It is a lot twitchier than the GP800, and not my weapon of choice for a long motorway journey, but at WOT, doing 70+ (80+ on the speedo) it keeps up just fine. Overtaking long trucks takes a bit of pre-planning (especially on the autostrada!) but quite doable.